Find information on Arizona DUI laws and the penalties for violating them.
If pulled over with a blood alcohol level of .08 or more in Arizona you will be charged with a “driving under the influence” which is the same as driving while intoxicated. You can also be charged if the officer determines visually that you are impaired from drugs legal or illegal. Arizona DUI laws also has a no tolerance law if your under 21 no amount of alcohol is acceptable and the same penalties will apply.
There is no need to be driving to get a DUI just being in control of a parked vehicle while intoxicated may get you charged. The officer will consider if the keys are in the car, if parked illegally, if your a sleep or awake, if the car is running, and where in the vehicle you are while parked. You can mount a sleep it off defense. The jury or judge will decide if the driver was using the vehicle as a shelter or did the driver pose a threat to the public to determine a conviction.
Arizona DUI penalties
Depending on the blood alcohol penalties are as follows.
|Impaired or Per Se DUI (BAC of .08 to .149%)||Extreme DUI (BAC of .15 to .199%)||Super Extreme DUI (BAC of at least .20%)|
|Jail||Minimum 10 days in jail (all but 24 hours may be suspended after alcohol screening is completed)||Minimum 30 consecutive days in jail (all but 9 days may be suspended if the driver installs an ignition interlock device (IID))||Minimum 45 consecutive days in jail (all but 14 days may be suspended if the driver installs an IID)|
|Fines||At least $1,480||At least $3,000||At least $3,250|
|License Suspension||At least 90 days||At least 90 days||At least 90 days|
|Ignition Interlock Device (IID)||1 year mandatory (but may be eligible for 6-month reduction)||1 year mandatory||1 year mandatory|
Repeat DUI offenders are punished harshly. Here are what the potential sentences generally look like for a second DUI based on the driver’s BAC:
|Impaired or Per Se DUI||Extreme DUI||Super Extreme DUI|
|Jail||Minimum 90 days in jail (30 days must be served consecutively and all but 30 may be suspended after completion of drug screening and treatment)||Minimum 120 days (60 served consecutively)||Minimum 180 days (90 served consecutively)|
|Fines||At least $3,000||At least $3,250||At least $4,250|
|License Revocation||At least 1 year (but may be eligible for a restricted license after 45 days if IID is installed)||At least 1 year (but may be eligible for a restricted license after 45 days if IID is installed)||At least 1 year (but may be eligible for a restricted license after 45 days if IID is installed)|
|Ignition Interlock Device (IID)||1 year mandatory||1 year mandatory||1 year mandatory|
Arizona SR22 insurance
You will also be required to have a Arizona SR22 insurance policy for 3 years after your eligible to reinstate your drivers license. If you do not own a vehicle you can purchase a Named Non Owner insurance policy to satisfy the MVD.
Refusing a blood or breath test.
Refusal to blow or submit to a blood test will automatically result in a 1 year suspension for the first offense and 2 years for the second offense. A prior DUI will count as a second refusal if it is within the 7 year period.