Important information on how a Oregon drivers license reinstatement process works. Explanation of required fees and penalties to obtain driving license privileges back.
Suspended Oregon Drivers License
Your Oregon drivers license can be suspended either by the court or the DMV. The court can confiscate your license on the spot. While DMV will send a notice of suspension with a date you must surrender you license by. Reasons for a suspension can be for any of the following.
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Failure to submit to a blood alcohol test
- Not paying child support
- Having too many violations or accidents according to Oregon’s driver improvement plan (see below)
- Reckless driving
- Evading a peace officer
Oregon Driver Improvement Program
The Driver Improvement Program promotes public safety. This program can put restrictions on your driver’s license or even suspend your license if you are convicted of several traffic violations within a specific amount of time.
- Drivers under 18 years of age or younger will be restricted for 90 days (you can drive for work purposes only) IF you have the any of the following before you turn 18 years old:
- 2 convictions
- 2 accidents
- 1 accident with 1 conviction
- 3 accidents or 3 convictions will result in a 6 month suspension.
- Drivers 18 years or older face restriction of license of 30 days if you have any of the following in a 18 month period.
- 3 convictions
- 3 accidents
- a combination of accidents and convictions totaling 3
- The restriction will limit you from driving night
License suspension for 30 days for the following in a 24 month period
- 4 convictions
- 4 accidents
- combination of 4 tickets or accidents
Oregon Suspension Hearings And Appeals
If the Oregon DMV suspends your license, you may be able to contest the suspension in an administrative hearing.Your suspension notification from the DMV will indicate whether you are eligible for an administrative hearing. Cases commonly handled through administrative hearings involve alcohol-related suspensions that did not arise from a DUI court conviction.
You can request a hearing:
- At Oregon DMV website
- Fax to DMV Hearing Case Management Unit 503-945-5521
- Mail DMV Hearings Case Management Unit 1905 Lana Ave NE Salem OR 97314.
You will need to include the following information.
- Your name
- Date of birth
- Mailing address
- Phone number
- Drivers license number
- Vehicle registration
Apply For Hardship Permit
For certain suspensions and revocations, you can apply to obtain an Oregon hardship or probationary permit that allows you to drive.
- To work or school
- For work
- To attend alcohol / drug classes
- Medical purposes
Call Oregon DMV to find out if your eligible 1-503-945-5000
Oregon Drivers license Reinstatement Steps
- Fulfill suspension requirement
- Check suspension notice
- Find suspension code on top right corner of notice
- Visit Oregon DMV Website
- Pay $75.00 Reinstatement fee
- Purchase SR22 Insurance