• Chances are you are at this page because you have been charged with a DUI in Washington. Please read on to find out about Washington DUI penalties and what can be required from you.

Cost Of DUI Fine In Washington

The amount of the fine in Washington will depend on several factors the first factor being blood alcohol level.

  • First offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 fines range from $825 to $5,000
  • First offense DUI with blood alcohol over .15 fines can be from $1,015 to $5,000
  • Second offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 fines can be from $1,015 to $5000
  • Second offense DUI with blood alcohol over .15 fines can be from $1,405 to $5,000
  • Third offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 fines can be from $1805 to $5000
  • Third offense DUI with blood alcohol over .15 fines can be from $2,605 to $5,000

  Minimum Jail Time for A Washington DUI

  • First offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 gets 24 hours of jail time or 15 days Electronic Home Monitoring
  • First offense DUI with blood alcohol over .15 gets 48 hours of jail time or 30 days Electronic Home Monitoring
  • Second offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 gets 30 days of jail time or 60 days Electronic Home Monitoring
  • Second offense DUI with blood alcohol over .15 gets 35 days of jail time or 90 days Electronic Home Monitoring
  • Third offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 gets 90 days of jail time or 120 days Electronic Home Monitoring
  • Third offense DUI with blood alcohol over .15 gets 120 days of jail time or 150 days Electronic Home Monitoring

Additional Penalties For Washington DUI With Child Passenger

The court will order additional penalties if the driver has a child under 16 years old at the time of the DUI offense. For a first offense, there’s an additional 24 hours in jail and $1,000 to $5,000 in fines. A second offense with a child passenger carries and extra five days jail and $2,000 to $5,000 in fines. And if convicted of a third DUI with a child passenger ten days in jail and $3,000 to $5,000 in fines on top of the other penalties.

License Suspension

  • First Offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 receives 90 days
  • First offense DUI with blood alcohol over .15 receives 1 to 2 years
  • Second offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 receives 2 years
  • Second offense DUI with blood alcohol over .15 receives 3 years
  • Third offense DUI with blood alcohol under .15 receives 3 years
  • Third offense with blood alcohol over .15 receives 4 years

Ignition Interlock Requirement

  • First offense 1 year of ignition interlock required on vehicle
  • Second offense 5 years of ignition interlock if previously restricted
  • Third offense 10 years ignition interlock if previously restricted

Additional Requirements for Washington DUI

  • Carry SR22 Insurance for 3 years
  • Be on probation for 5 years
  • Attend alcohol and drug assessment classes

Important Links For Washington DUI